Collagen - Vegan or Animal based?

Collagen - Vegan or Animal based?

As you all have probably heard about this amazing supplement called Collagen that is being used in the shape of pills, powders, and even creams. However, you have one more decision to make…

Vegan or Animal-based?

Today I am hoping to help you choose the right type of Collagen and share my research with you on this matter. Let me explain a bit on Collagen before I begin. Collagen is the most plentiful protein in the body. It has important roles, including providing structure to your skin and helping with bone and joint issues.  It is one of the major building blocks of bones, skin, muscles, tendons, and ligaments. Collagen is also found in many other body parts, including blood vessels, corneas, and teeth. You can think of it as the “glue” that holds all these things together. In fact, the word comes from the Greek word “kólla,” which means glue.

As you age, your body Produces less and lower-quality collagen. It is recommended to start taking a Collagen supplement after the age of 30 to help promote healthy, glowing skin, nails, and even help with joint discomfort. Collagen helps to keep your cartilage intact and strong and can even improve symptoms of osteoarthritis.





Collagen itself is not naturally found in plants, therefore brands wanting to sell collagen must resort to an animal ingredients in most cases.


It has been recognized as safe by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA)***


 Mimics the structure and bioavailability of our own and are effective in “replacing” collagen in our own body.

Instead of being sourced from animals, collagen can now be made by using genetically modified yeast and bacteria.


Less risk of developing any type of allergic reaction.


Using yeast or bacteria to produce collagen is cost-effective


The lab-controlled setting gives manufacturers the ability to improve the safety profile. If the source is easily traceable, it makes it a safer product for all consumers.


Plant-based consumers can enjoy the benefits of Collagen without having to consume any animal products.


You do not have to be vegan to take a vegan collagen builder.



Unfortunately, when we ingest collagen protein from animals, it is not instantly converted to collagen in the body.


Uses animal parts like hooves, bones, and hides of animals.  Bones and scales from fish.


Bovine collagen comes primarily from cows.


More likely to have contaminants, antibiotics, and pesticides in it.


May contain chemicals that are harmful to your body.


Most animal collagen is a by-product of factory farming, where pesticides and herbicides like glyphosate are stored in the bones.

Still in its early years of production. 


Vegan collagen peptide builders are not made from collagen.


Like the name suggests, these plant-based collagen supplements help your body build its own collagen. It may take more time to rebuild.



There you have it! I hope this was helpful information.

Back to blog

Featured collection

1 of 3